What does Workers Compensation and Hurricane Irma have in common? Well if a contractor or fellow business owner that you know is considering going to Florida to assist in the disaster relief, the state of Florida does have many specific out of state contractor requirements that a contractor should be wary of. Many of them include:
More importantly, due to the potential risk of suspected help that the State may receive from out of state contractors, Florida will be performing onsite inspections from a specific group of investigators formed by the Division of Workers Compensation. With that being said, contractors and businesses that are found to be working without Workers Compensation in place will not only receive a "stop work order" but must also pay a hefty $1,000 penalty fee before normal business operations may progress. The State of Florida is even offering rewards of up $25,000 for those that can supply information to the State of those committing insurance fraud including businesses not carrying appropriate Workers Compensation coverage .
Information originally posted from the below article concerning Workers Compensation Insurance in the State of Florida
Here we will be publishing articles, tips and information regarding insurance on a regular basis. Make sure to tune back to this page often has we post a new blog every month!